favourite podcasts

I started listening to podcasts when traveling to and from work last term, and I’ve found them to be a great way to relax even when I’m on the go. Google Play Music can automatically download the latest three episodes of the podcasts you’ve subscribed to when you’re connected to the internet so that that you can listen to them offline later. Below are the ones I’ve set to be automatically downloaded to my phone:

Bad With Money With Gaby Dunn

bad-with-money-with-gaby-dunn

I’ve been a fan of JBU for a minute, and you already know I’m all about self-improvement, so when I heard that Gaby (“America’s deadbeat sweetheart”) was starting her own podcast about managing money I knew I had to listen. The episodes come out weekly, and the podcast is already on their second season. Even though I’m in a business program, I’ve realized I know amazingly little about personal finance. So even though I’m not exactly Gaby’s “target audience” (broke L.A. actors), I still find the episodes both hilarious and educational.

Dear Hank and John

dear-hank-john

If you don’t know who Hank and John Green are… do you even Internet. (TLDR: They’re brothers that run a ton of channels on Youtube relating to education like CrashCourse and SciShow. John Green is an author who wrote books like The Fault in Our Stars and Looking for Alaska, while Hank Green is a business owner who runs a lot of conferences like Vidcon, Nerdcon, and most recently Podcon). In this podcast, they answer the Nation’s (their fans’) questions, talk about their lives, and give their weekly updates on Mars (Hank’s passion) and AFC Wimbledon (John’s passion…?) This is probably one of the least informative podcasts I listen to but one of my favourites anyway.

Call Your Girlfriend

call-your-girlfriend

I stumbled upon this podcast completely on accident. It’s two long-distance friends who do a podcast every week. They mostly talk about the news but give their own liberal takes on it. Sometimes they talk celebrity gossip, but lately, there’s been a lot of Trump-bashing.

Snap Judgment

snap-judgment

Oh, My God, This Is My Favourite Podcast Of All Time. It’s a lot more heavily produced than the other ones because it’s a storytelling podcast, but that’s what makes it so good. Every episode has a new theme and includes a series of stories from different people. These stories are usually crazy; and with Snap’s sound effects and editing, it really does transport you to a different place. The goal of this podcast is to break down cultural, political, and religious barriers by telling everyone’s stories, and it really does such a good job of fulfilling this goal.

Family Ghosts

family-ghosts

I don’t have too much to say about this podcast since I recently subscribed to it and they only have one episode out so far, but I’m expecting good things. It’s another storytelling podcast, but tells stories about – you guessed it – family ghosts. Check out the pilot if you’re interested!

Leave a Reply

