Relaxing is never dull.

Summer has been going by swimmingly. I’ve made it one of my objectives to learn basic cooking skills in order to prevent starvation when the school terms comes around the residence cafeterias are too far to walk to. So far, I haven’t set anything on fire, and all the food is edible, so I’m going to give myself a pat on the back.

IMG_3938   IMG_3941 IMG_3942 IMG_3943 IMG_3944IMG_3956

For my birthday, we went to lunch. I had gotten some coupons for three flatbread/pizza things from 3 Brewers from UWAC, and there was a location conveniently near our house, so we decided to go there.

IMG_3940
We rarely go out to eat at Centrum, so this was a nice change of pace. The restaurant was really big and had a nice vibe.

I went out to Rideau a lot in the first weeks following my return to Brazil because I was handing out resumes left and right. (Oh, positive update: I got the job at Bentley! Been working there for two weeks now, and it’s pretty great there.) Once, my mom joined me after work and we went to Nordstrom, and got some girls working at MAC to do Mom’s eye makeup! They were all really surprised that her eyeliner was tattooed on… it definitely still makes me see her as a rebel in her younger days 😉

IMG_3957 IMG_3958 IMG_3959 IMG_3960

I haven’t visited the public library since forever, and when I did I was pleasantly surprised at the renovations. They automated the book returns process and added so much more study space! I would seriously consider the library as a good study spot if their WIFI was half decent…

IMG_3981 IMG_3982 IMG_3983

Canada Day was rainy, so I opted out of going out (although in retrospect I kind of wish I had because it was one of the few chances I got to see my high school friends again.) Instead, I went out with Mom and T to see the NAC orchestra perform at nighttime. I had never developed too much of a taste for traditional music, so I thought I would be bored out of my mind, but it was actually absolutely enthralling! Maybe I should start listening to some classical music.

IMG_3989
The line-up to see the orchestra was huge… we waited for over an hour to get in.

IMG_3990 IMG_3991 IMG_3992  IMG_3994 IMG_3995 IMG_3996

The days are going by so fast, and sometimes I find myself worrying that I’m not doing enough to cherish each and every moment. But then again, this summer should be all about relaxing, so it’s time I told my mind to take a break too.

Leave a Reply

