WAAG Week 8: Getting my nails done for the first time!

Monday

I went to a birthday part over the weekend. We had to buy a present, so we went to a shopping mall. The birthday girl really likes alcohol, so I wandered around while my host’s uncle picked out the perfect bottle.

IMG_3807 IMG_3808 IMG_3809 IMG_3810 IMG_3811

I asked if Pernambuco makes any wine, and apparently they do! It’s called cachaça, and is apparently very strong. I might buy some of this before I leave for the AIESEC members back home.

IMG_3812 IMG_3813

The party was in Piedade, which is right next to the Boa Viagem beach. The house was beautiful!

IMG_3815 IMG_3816 IMG_3817 IMG_3818 IMG_3819 IMG_3820

After the party, my host’s cousins took me out for some coffee. (Yes, they drink coffee at nighttime.)

IMG_3829 IMG_3830

M* got sick from dengue yesterday! Well, it’s not exactly dengue, but a virus that is similar to it? Apparently there are several strains of dengue that appeared after the World Cup, because the mosquito that had dengue also got infected with another virus. Luckily, the other strains aren’t as dangerous.

Tuesday

Some of the other interns and I decided to go out to the movies today. Since Shopping Boa Vista is very close to our workplace (15 min walk) and there is a movie theatre inside, we decided to go there. All of us assumed that the movies would be in English with Portuguese subtitles. However, when we got there, all of the movies were dubbed, which means we wouldn’t understand a thing. So we decided to go to a bigger shopping mall, Riomar. To our relief, Riomar had movies in English! Hurrah! But the movie we wanted wasn’t playing, we we had to pick another one. Since by now it was already 6pm and all us wanted to be able to bus home (a lot of busses stop running at 11pm), we decided to just choose a movie that was playing right away. That movie turned out to be Mad Max.

Now, I had never heard of this movie before, but it had a five star rating so I thought it must be pretty good. We were standing far away, and the movie poster looked like it was for a cartoon movie, so I was like, “Sure, why not?”

Mad Max Fury Road Movie Poster
The movie poster for Mad Max: Fury Road. If you back off and squint a little, can’t you see this being a movie poster for a cartoon?! I rest my case.

… it was not a cartoon. Blood, skulls, everywhere from the minute I walked into the theatre. Did I mention that we had chosen to watch this in 3D? No? WE WATCHED THIS IN 3D. I yelped when a bloody body part shot out of the screen at my face. Usually when I know I’m about to watch something with graphic scenes, I make sure to sit next to someone who I know wouldn’t mind (much) when I grab and squeeze the living daylights out of their arm, but since I didn’t know the content of the movie beforehand, I wasn’t able to strategically place myself. I was stuck between a couple (or a fast-becoming couple… lots of romances during these internships guys) and another girl intern with a huge bag of popcorn. I had to settle for stuffing my mouth with popcorn whenever I got terrified.

Despite everything, it was actually a bloody good movie (pun intended).

Wednesday

We held a mini Global Village for the kids at work today. It was the first time I got to cross-collaborate with the other Projects at our NGO, which was pretty cool! We taught the kids about our own countries and showed them things that are popular there.

11303493_10206909276028182_2064041876_n
Watching Vietnamese cartoons!
11334396_10206909275668173_88530114_n
I gave him a Canada necklace. Doesn’t he look so happy to have it?

I also learned that I could never be a teacher. I’d taught kids before, but this was usually with the parents present. These kids had been left to their own devices, and they screamed like banshees half the time – I thought I was going to be deaf at the end of it all. I was very glad to end the day knowing that I would be able to go back to my nice and quiet SMarketing room.

Saturday

One of my host sisters accompanied me to the nail salon today. I was really excited because I had never had my nails professionally done before. It actually wasn’t as great as I expected – I think I romanticized the process a little too much. I asked for them to not cut my cuticles, because I was scared of infection (also, sometimes they don’t disinfect their tools properly). Because of that, the entire treatment (a mani-pedi) ended up being only 10R, which is just a little over $3! My host sisters were very shocked when I told them that a similar treatment in Canada would cost $30-40.

IMG_3847 IMG_3849 IMG_3850

I spent a lot of today watching MMA and UFC videos. (Honestly, I don’t know how people survive in families with limited or slow WiFi… probably more productively, come to think of it.) MMA is probably the most popular sport in Brazil next to soccer (excuse me, football). I admittedly have been getting quite into it. The UFC bantamweight champion Ronda Rousey is actually fighting a Brazilian challenger in Rio on August 1! I’ll definitely be tuning in to that. Prediction: Rousey will beat the !@#$%^&* out of her competitor.

I’m slowly coming to the realization that my host family is actually quite geeky. My younger host sister has memorized every word to the second Harry Potter movie. (Her cousin once turned off the volume and asked her to narrate the movie instead… and she did it.) And while most people went to a university party tonight, my host sisters stayed in… and watched the League of Legends championship.

This is an awesome family ❤

Leave a Reply

